Child Custody Webinar Series for Advocates:

The Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody is pleased to announce a series of webinars for advocates to help them better assist their clients involved in child custody litigation. Please join us!

Once registered, you will receive email notification regarding login instructions and verification. Closed captioning is provided. If you have any issues registering or have further questions regarding this series, please email Alicia Lord at alord@ncjfcj.org.

March 15, 2017 at 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT
Registration Closed. To view a recording and download materials for this event, click here.

Beyond the Legalese: An Introduction to Family Court (90 minutes)

Presenters: Amanda Kay, Program Attorney, National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, and Jennifer L. Woodson, Family Court Enhancement Project Coordinator, Multnomah County Circuit Court

Weird vocabulary, intimidating procedures, and unfamiliar standards seem to be everywhere when you go to family court for the first time and can be horribly confusing, especially for survivors trying to achieve safety and well-being for themselves and their children. But you as an advocate can help, even if you’re not a lawyer. This webinar will provide a basic overview of terminology, common procedures, and typical legal standards used in child custody cases, whether in the context of a divorce or unmarried parents, and will offer suggestions for ways to support your clients throughout their court case.

 

April 18, 2017 at 3:30pm ET | 2:30pm CT | 1:30pm MT | 12:30pm PT
Registration Closed. To view a recording and download materials for this event, click here.

Evidence Basics: Helping to Make Sure Your Client’s Story Is Heard
 (60 minutes)

Presenters: Hon. Shaun Floerke, Judge, Minnesota’s Sixth Judicial District Court, and Nancy Ver Steegh, Professor of Law, Mitchell Hamline School of Law

A court’s decision is only as good as the information it receives, but this information has to be presented correctly to be sure it’s considered. With the safety and well-being of your clients and their children at stake, getting the necessary facts before the court is crucial. Courts have rules about evidence so that judges will make decisions based on reliable information, not gossip and guesswork. Although the rules can be confusing, they are designed to protect the parties’ rights, and they should be used to help plan for your client’s court appearance. This webinar will introduce the nuts and bolts of evidence and allow you to support your client with a better understanding of what happens in court.
May 18, 2017 at 11:30am ET | 10:30am CT | 9:30am MT | 8:30am PT
Should I Stay or Should I Go? Interstate Child Custody Issues for Domestic Violence Survivors (90 minutes)
Presenters: Deb Goelman and Sarah Whitesell, Co-Directors of the Legal Resource Center on Violence Against Women

Have domestic violence survivors ever asked you about leaving the state with their children to flee from abuse?  This webinar, presented by the Legal Resource Center on Violence Against Women (LRC), will focus on basic interstate custody issues for advocates. The webinar will provide participants with an overview of the various federal and state laws that govern interstate custody cases and is designed for advocates who wish to understand how these laws fit together.  Case scenarios will be used to demonstrate how advocates can help survivors address the economic, safety, and legal issues involved when they cross state lines for safety. The LRC is a nonprofit organization based in Takoma Park, Maryland, that works to improve legal representation for domestic violence survivors in interstate custody cases.

Thank you for your interest in the Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody (RCDV:CPC) Webinar, a project of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ). To register, please use the form provided below. Please find session details to the left of the form.




ABOUT RCDV:CPC

Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody.

Contact

1-800-52-PEACE or 1-800-527-3223
Email : info@rcdvcpc.org

NEWSLETTER

Sign up to receive our email newsletter which includes upcoming events, website updates, and our semi-annual publication, Synergy.

Call Us For Assistance
1-800-527-3223