Domestic Violence in the Dependency System: A Series for Child Welfare Professionals

The Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody is pleased to announce a series of webinars for child welfare professionals to help them better respond to survivors of domestic violence and their children. Please join us!


Once registered, you will receive email notification regarding login instructions and verification. Closed captioning is provided. If you have any issues registering or have further questions regarding this series, please email Alicia Lord at alord@ncjfcj.org.

Part 1: May 3, 2017, 12:30pm ET/11:30am CT/10:30am MT/9:30am PT

Child Abuse, Neglect, and Domestic Violence: Dispelling the Myths, Enhancing Practice

Presenter: Jennifer Rose, Independent Consultant for NCJFCJ and Co-Director of Inspire Action for Social Change (90 minutes)

This webinar will explore our preconceptions and myths about child welfare- involved families who are experiencing domestic violence. The interactive 90- minute webinar will help participants to develop a shared understanding and definition of domestic violence and battering, unpack common myths and misconceptions, and explore the connections between our beliefs and our practice with individuals and families experiencing domestic violence. Lastly, we will examine strategies for enhancing our individual and agency-wide work with individuals and families experiencing domestic violence.


Part 2: May 4, 2017, 2:00pm ET/1:00pm CT/12:00pm MT/11:00am PT

The Role of Social Workers in Dependency Cases with Domestic Violence Victims
Presenter: Isa Woldeguiorguis, Executive Director of The Center for Hope and Healing (90 minutes)

This webinar will focus on the overlap of domestic violence and child welfare, including: a discussion of the role of child welfare in enhancing child and family safety, the value of screening for domestic violence in child welfare cases, risk and protective factors, and the importance of culturally competent practice.

Part 3: May 11, 2017, 2:00pm ET/1:00pm CT/12:00pm MT/11:00am PT

Reasonable Efforts in Dependency Cases Involving Domestic Violence

Presenter: Hon. Katherine Lucero, Supervising Judge, Juvenile Dependency Court, Santa Clara County, California. (90 minutes)

Federal and state law both require (with some exception) social services to provide reasonable efforts to families to: prevent removal of a child from the home; return the child to his or her parents, if removed; and achieve permanency for the child. This webinar will provide participants with a general understanding of the legal framework surrounding reasonable efforts in child dependency cases. Participants also will learn about steps child services can take during the life of a dependency case to provide reasonable efforts in cases involving domestic violence.

Thank you for your interest in the Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody (RCDV:CPC) Webinar, a project of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ). To register, please use the form provided below. Please find session details to the left of the form.
Closed Captioning will be provided. 






ABOUT RCDV:CPC

Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody.

Contact

1-800-52-PEACE or 1-800-527-3223
Email : info@rcdvcpc.org

NEWSLETTER

Sign up to receive our email newsletter which includes upcoming events, website updates, and our semi-annual publication, Synergy.

Call Us For Assistance
1-800-527-3223